Your Cart is Empty

GIVER "Sculpture Of Violence" LP

incl. VAT, plus shipping


One of Germany’s leading hardcore lights Giver are back with their second album ‘Sculpture Of Violence’, leaning into a fresh and melodious territory reminiscent of the early to mid 00’s US hardcore sound that belonged to the likes of Bridge Nine Records and Deathwish Inc. birthing bands such as Blacklisted, Have Heart and Modern Life Is War.

Expanding upon their foundation of caustic and high tempo metal-tinged hardcore whilst implementing stop-start build ups, there’s a dogged urgency on this sophomore effort that showcases a self-assured versatility to the band. Where first album ‘Where The Cycle Breaks’ offered the template of their sound wrapped within a level of emotional ambivalence and uncertainty, Giver in 2019 are a much more outward looking beast with teeth bared.

Cuts such as ‘Every Age Has Its Dragons (Like An Empire)’, ‘These Words Are Rain’ and ‘Imitation Dreams’ tackle topics of exploitative labour, the dissonance of religious discord and ill-conceived concepts of masculinity in the current climate to catastrophic effect. Jarring tempo changes are coupled alongside anthemic gang vocals, keeping focus on the lyricism underneath the aggression at all times. The ten songs on offer, whilst bleak, maintain a youthful vibrancy that truly wants to make change on a personal and much broader level.

Wider in scope, more concise in delivery and tonally feverish, Sculpture Of Violence is a worthy addition to the current international hardcore scenes more melodic bent of great albums.

01. Night Season
02. Sculpture Of Violence
03. Every Age Has Its Dragons (Like An Empire)
04. The Same Stream
05. New Gods
06. Evil Is
07. These Words Are Rain
08. Imitation Dreams
09. Longing For Death
10. Built In The Difference
Disclaimer: Vinyl Orders & Product Images

Vinyl Orders - Please note that we do our best to protect vinyl records ideally for shipping, using our custom made mailers and additional cardboard squares. However, we can not guarantee that no damage on the way occurs. Ordering is at one's own risk. Vinyl might be delivered unsealed as we have to open copies to check vinyl colours, if not sufficiently labeled by the distributor / label.

Product Images - Please note that most of the images in our store are not actual photos but mock ups. These mock ups are digital representations of what we expect the final product to look like - however they do not represent the final product. Final vinyl pressings, prints, etc. may look slightly different.

What does Pre-Order mean & how does it work?

Pre-order means that you are ordering an item that is not yet manufactured or in stock. Pre-Order items will not ship before their release date. If your order contains one or more pre-order items, the entire order will be shipped in one package once the pre-order item is released.