Ihr Warenkorb ist leer


MINOT "Equal / Opposite" LP


Benachrichtigen Sie mich, wenn dieses Produkt verfügbar ist:

Instrumental music is the new loud. The debut of the American band Minot continues what bands like Slint, Trans Am or Bastro once began. Perhaps today the legendary Slint would sound like Minot, but ultimately this comparison falls short.

Minot are more compact, their songs start immediately, capturing you in the middle of this maelstrom the three musicians unfold. Guitarist Matthew Solberg (Ex - From Monument To Masses ), drummer Shannon Corr and bassist Ben Thorne merge into a stunning unit that is much more than just the sum of its parts. It is the urgency of the pleasant aggressiveness that makes "Equal / Opposite " so attractive; this instrumental force reminds of the genius Dischord bands from Washington DC. Some of the seven tracks reminisce of the early Fugazi, just without vocals. Stunningly powerful and at the same time gentle and lyrical - Minot understand very well how to combine these opposites in their music, without falling into the all too familiar and sometimes even annoying loud-quiet scheme.

Particularly impressive is the permeability connected to the tremendously exciting, highly complex sounds, with stoic blunt beats, lyrical loops that go directly into the ear and invite you to repeated listening. As soon as the first guitars of "Allostatic Load" penetrate into consciousness, the view expands as an infinite horizon appears. A musically generated space that does not need to be filled with voices, on the contrary: the focus on guitar, drums, bass are sufficient to be magnificently entertained.

The best way to enjoy the music is as loud as possible. Only then can one experience the organic interplay of Minot in its entirety, and the enormous power of the music becomes tangible. The listener does not get a feeling that something such as vocals might be missing, because: Instrumental music is the new sound ! "Equal / Opposite " of Minot is the proof.

01. Allostatic Load
02. Tharsis
03. The Left Hand Of Darkness
04. The Horizon Problem
05. Unredacted
06. Millisievert
07. White Castle Doctrine


Please note that we do our best to protect vinyl records ideally for shipping, using our custom made mailers and additional cardboard squares. However, we can not guarantee that no damage on the way occurs. Ordering is at one's own risk. Vinyl might be delivered unsealed as we have to open copies to check vinyl colours, if not sufficiently labeled by the distributor / label.


Pre-order means that your item will not ship before it's release date and so will all other items on your order. We do not split up orders, everything will be shipped all at once together in one package.


Please note that most of the images in our store are not actual photos but mock ups. These mock ups are digital representations of what we expect the final product to look like - however they do not represent the final product. Final vinyl pressings, prints, etc. may look slightly different.